Dates to Remember 2021

 

Wednesday, May 19, 2021 at 7:00 a.m.

Annual Bird Walk – Breakfast and Presentation follows at 9:00 a.m.

By request we are returning to Manchester Country Club. Many birds can be sighted in the wetlands and ponds. This is an easy 1mile walk along a smooth path.

Location:  Manchester Country Club parking lot

Coordinator:  Martha Pfeiffer

Breakfast (not buffet, plated and served) will follow at the Equinox Village, you will need proof of Covid vaccination to attend.  

 

Saturday, May 22, 2021 

Annual Plant, Bake and Tag Sale

All member participation needed for our fundraiser for Civic Beautification. 

Location: SVAC  details to follow

Coordinators:  Carolyn Brogan, Anne MacLaurin and Becky Moore

 

Wednesday, May 26, 2021 at 1:00 p.m.

Floral Demonstration by Jaga

In preparation for the Flower Show floral designer Jaga Smiechowski from Rutland GC will inspire and put us at ease to create our own design for the show.

Location: TBD

Coordinator: Sue Hinkel

 

Tuesday, June 8, 2021 at 9:00 a.m.

Manchester Town Green Cleanup

Coordinator: Sue Hinkel

 

Wednesday, June 9, 2021 at 1:00 p.m.

Please this is a change

Gardens, Wine and Wilderness
J
ane Child and Ginny Freeman will take us on their tour of New Zealand where they visited private, ecological and native botanical gardens.
Location: TBD (either Equinox Village or Hildene)

 

Tuesday, June 15, 2021 at 5:30 p.m.

101st Anniversary Celebration and Flower Show Preview Party

Location:  The Wilburton Inn

Coordinators: The Flower Show Committee

 

Wednesday, June 16, 2021

The Roaring Twenties Flower Show

A Small Standard Flower Show with a Roaring Twenties design theme in remembrance of our 1920 founding.

Location: The Wilburton Inn

Coordinators: The Flower Show Committee

 

Tuesday, July 7, 2021 at 9:00 a.m.

Manchester Town Green Cleanup

Coordinator:  Sue Hinkel

 

Wednesday, July 14, 2021 at 1:00 p.m.

What’s New at the Dene?

Ann Hausslein, Dene Farm Manager, will show us what is new at the farm.

Location: The Dene at Hildene

Coordinator: Robin Seitz

 

Wednesday, July 28, 2021 at 8:30 a.m.

Day Trip to King’s Garden at Fort Ticonderoga

Location:  Carpool from St. Paul’s Church

Coordinator:  Pat Barnett

 

Tuesday, August 4, 2021 at 9:00 a.m.

Manchester Town Green Cleanup

Coordinator:  Sue Hinkel

Wednesday, August 18, 2021 at 1:00 p.m.

Cooking with Herbs

GCM member Becky Moore and friend Joanne Prouty will demonstrate a range of recipes using herbs.

Location: First Congregational Church

Coordinator: Becky Moore

 

Wednesday, September 1, 2021 at 10:00 a.m.

Green Up Day on River Road

Coordinator: Barbara Powers

 

Tuesday, September 7, 2021 at 9:00 a.m.

Manchester Town Green Cleanup

Coordinator:  Sue Hinkel

 

Wednesday, September 8, 2021 at 11:00 a.m.

Annual Meeting and Tour of Rogerland

Tour the gardens and enjoy an informal lunch provided by staff before our Annual Meeting.

Location:  Rogerland in East Arlington

Coordinator:  Becky Burke

 

Wednesday, September 15, 2021 at 1:00 p.m.

Dahlias!  What’s Not To Love?

Annette Bolt of Fleur Farm in East Dorset will speak of her love of dahlias and growing them in Vermont.

Location: Fleur Farm

Coordinator: Michele Pagan

 

Tuesday, October 5, 2021 at 9:00 a.m.

Manchester Town Green Cleanup

Coordinator:  Sue Hinkel

 

Wednesday, October 13, 2021 at 1:00 p.m.

Landscape and Garden Design

GCM member and owner of Verdant View, Kathy Moreau will speak about her elegant and native garden designs.

Location:  TBD

Coordinator: Beth Alden

 

Wednesday, November 17, 2021 at 1:00 p.m.

Following Vincent

GCM Member Carol Berry will enlighten us with her knowledge of Vincent Van Gogh.

Location: TBD

Coordinator:  Carol Berry

 

Monday, November 29, 2021 at 9:00 a.m.

Annual Greens Workshop

Location:  First Congregational Church

Coordinators:   Carmen Bodge and Sue Hinkel

 

Wednesday, December 8, 2021 2:00 to 4:00 p.m.

Annual Tea and Ornament Exchange

Join in the fun of our annual event in a relaxed setting before the holiday rush.

Location: TBD

Coordinator: Christina Nichols